The winners of the 2018 Juried Art Show are…

Friday, June 15, 2018

Congratulations to all artists who were juried into this year’s Juried Art Show (JAS)! This year’s exhibition includes artists from North Carolina, Georgia, Virginia, New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Illinois, Oklahoma, Colorado, and Washington. The media represented in this show includes, but is not limited to: photography, painting, colored pencil, multi-media, collage, assemblage, sculpture (wood, metal, stone, and clay), jewelry, and knit materials. Pictured below are the five monetary award recipients. Awards include an Acquisition Award, First Place, Second Place, Third Place, and Best Rocky Mount Artist. Six additional pieces were recognized with merit awards.

About the Juror

This year, our juror was Annah Lee of ArtSpace in Raleigh, NC. Although she was classically trained in painting and photography, Annah has spent many years working with contemporary artists. Of the 58 artists that submitted 217 entries into this year’s show, Annah selected only 52 works from 27 artists.

About the Exhibits

To see these and all other JAS works, visit the Arts Center at the Imperial Centre. The Arts Center is always free to experience and is open Tuesdays-Saturdays 10am-5pm and Sundays 1pm-5pm. Our exhibits also include A Retrospective by Robert Irwin, Metalicious by Alison Pack, and Sweet Surrender by Margaret Morrison. The Arts Center is great for families with children because we have two interactive exhibits, a summer scavenger hunt for a prize, and other engaging activities! Use the links to read more about what we have to offer in exhibits and programs this summer.

(top left) Acquisition Award: Steamed Windows, Keith Sharp
(top right) First Place Award: Untitled (Pink Pour), Allison Tierney
(bottom right) Second Place Award: Bird Tamer, Guiseppe Zappala
(middle left) Third Place Award: Emma’s Heartbreak, Liz Roetzel
(bottom left) Best Rocky Mount Artist Award: Winston, Lynne Carmichael
Merit Awards: Untitled, Judy Jones; Untitled (Okay), Wayne Marcelli; NeuroMorphic, Natacha Sochat; Psychedelic Beast, Dorian Monsalve; Procession of Eight, Rosalie Midyette; and Petersburg Interchange, Sam Shelby.
© 2020 City of Rocky Mount, North Carolina. All Rights Reserved. | Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Employee Login